top of page

I made it!


I have officially made it to the Netherlands!!! After 4 days of non-stop traveling I am in Amsterdam. Leaving AZ was pretty terrible, saying bye to my mom and boyfriend was not so great- but I knew that was coming. I left the sidewalk teary eyed and I got up to the counter to drop my bags and they charged me for one of my bags even though they shouldn't have. Then I got to my gate and my flight from Phoenix to Seattle that connected to another flight to Iceland was severely delayed with no idea of a new time of departure. If I missed my connection I would have to wait another day to leave, which meant not only saying goodbye again but completely missing my trip to Iceland due to time difference. Eventually the flight from Phoenix to Seattle took off more quickly than expected and I had a total of 30 minutes after the flight to deplane and make my connecting flight in another terminal. I got off the plane in a dead sprint and less than 10 minutes to spare and found that I had to take not one but three trams before I would be at my gate. Luckily I had a friend at the gate begging for them to keep it open. Final call came and went and they said they would hold the gate for my next flight for only ONE tram ride in. After a heavy sprinting workout I was on the next tram (I believe in God for moments like that). I made it on the flight! On the flight to Iceland I slept most of the flight because our day was going to start at midnight AZ time, so I was trying to catch up. During my slumber the Northern Lights were entirely visible out the window AND NO ONE WOKE ME UP (I believe in the devil and severe karma for moments like this as Iceland was too cloudy to see the lights during our trip). We made it to Iceland and it was the most beautiful, expensive, windy place I have ever been. After flying to Amsterdam and taking the train into Leiden, I am settled and loving this new beautiful place.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page