top of page

It is all coming to an end

I have a little under a month left in Europe and I am getting all of the "it's coming to an end" feels.

We are having a lot of "lasts" and it makes me want to cry every time I think of it.

It is kind of crazy, how fast this time has gone by. And I keep thinking of this time as like a total utopian situation. Every day has been incredible- even on days when I had real responsibilities.

Now that time is coming to an end I feel so happy with everything I had done while I was here. The only things I regret doing are times when I turned down an opportunity, or chose to do anything that wasn't entirely what I wanted to do. It's funny, because I keep comparing this to death (terribly morbid but stick with me). Like I hope when I look back on my life at 90 years old or whatever, I am happy with all I did, and have very little moments I regret for not choosing entire happiness. I know everyone says that. But seriously, it took stepping out of my life to realize that I am living in a lot of ways simply to die. I have gone to college for three years and am really happy I haven't entered a graduate program or anything yet. I hope I can keep living like this when I get home.

This week started with Amanda, Claire, and I going to Gouda. It is super famous for their cheese! We didn't see much because it was Sunday and everything was closed, but still a good day.

We also had a party for one of our roommates who left. I cannot describe how happy I am that I live in this house, my roommates are absolute family and it is so amazing how they've shaped my experience here. I literally laughed harder than I ever have this night with Amanda and Charlotte and I just really love all of them. We sat on my roof talking to end the night and I feel so lucky.

The next day we all were hanging out and decided to dye Lindsay's hair pink- so we did. We hungout with Charlotte's aunt and went to the only place that sells margaritas in town.

Wednesday we said goodbye to Claire and Lindsay and Amanda got tattoos of tulips. We said goodbye at Olivier's where we all became friends over a lot of beers. It was unreal sad. I cannot believe this is all coming to an end.

The next day everyone went to Pelibar and had fun together.

Friday was the beach party at the Hague. We spent the entire day on the beach with a blow up stroopwaffle and I have literally never laughed as hard as this day. Some guy tried to read our palms and we found a random trampoline and jumped on it for a solid 30 minutes. We paid to get into this beach party but ended up sitting in the dark on the beach for most of the time instead because we were having so much fun. This might be my happiest day. I love my friends and the Netherlands so much.

On Saturday we had a final goodbye party at Oranjelaan. Everyone came, and it was seriously way too fun. Lindsay and Amanda were outside for hours, Charlotte and Iacopo went on a bike ride around the church, and everyone had such a good time together knowing we all would be leaving soon.

I AM SO SAD TIME IS ENDING HERE. I cannot describe how happy I am here.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page