top of page

It's been a while

I haven't posted in a while, so here is enough posts for the last four weeks.

On March 3rd I went to Prague, Czech Republic.

Three friends and I went on a bus overnight (a solid 15 hours) and arrived in Prague on the 4th. We had the whole day to go on a tour, see our hostel, etc. The city is beautiful. It feels like Disneyland. There are just beautiful buildings all over situated on hills overlooking the city, and the gothic style brings a charm to the city that is unlike anything I have ever seen. Our tour guide's name was Zedd, and I would not be surprised if every single person in that tour felt like their life was a little changed after. He was funny, real, and passionate about everything he talked about. He knew so much about the city, and really cared about what he was talking about. I didn't know how much Prague played a part in WWII and this is what stood out most for me. Zedd stopped us in front of the Jewish cemetery and you could tell as he spoke he was more passionate about this story than any other. He told us about the cemetery, and about what is inside. Hanging on the walls of the cemetery's building are paintings that kids completed during a three day ethics investigation of the camps. Officials of the society that was much like the UN came to see if the rumors of the horrors of these camps were true. During this time Nazi officials gave the kids coloring supplies, families food and water, and blankets to sleep with. No one complained because they were hoping this would last. The officials came and went because nothing looked harsh, and as soon as they left all food and fun was stripped from everyone. Most of the paintings on the wall include families together in front of their homes, because that was all they wanted. Zedd continued to tell us that during this time a man received a letter stating that he needed to report to a "camp" to help with the Polish army and he and his nephew who he was caring for would need to report the next day. His nephew's parents were in Chicago, and he was totally in charge of taking care of his nephew. His nephew said no, he would not go, because he knew something terrible would happen. His uncle said they would not disobey the law, and decided to go. His nephew ran away that night, and walked on foot over two countries to get to safety. His uncle died a few days later in a camp. His nephew lived, married and had a child. The nephew was Zedd's grandfather. He got teary-eyed as he spoke about how if he had not run away, Zedd would not be here. It is amazing to hear these things first-hand. He showed us the ghettos the jews were forced to live in, and just how barbaric the life was. He told us how Jews were forced to pray on the Prague bridge every time they passed, even though they did not believe in what they were praying to. He then talked about Trump, and other world leaders, and explained how history is repeating itself, just in different ways. In these times Jews were looked at as terrible criminals, people who were the worst of the worst. It is interesting that now we won't let Muslim countries into our own, because we have associated terror with a group of people as a whole, not just the individuals who have created this terror. I am not educated enough on the subject to state a true opinion, but I personally think that I agree. We have to be careful when we let our minds have these silent stigmas, especially in America. The world looks to us in a lot of ways, and when we start treating people poorly, it makes it okay for others to do the same. And sooner or later these stigmas turn to actions, actions that will be written about as horrors in our grandkids history books. That night my two friends and I went to the weirdest club we have ever been to and went home. The next day we went to Kutna Hora's bone church, where there is an entire room filled with the bones of their people. The bones are made into art, and it is crazy that this exists. It is hard to look at a pile of skulls and think about the fact that they were all people with kids and lives one day. Makes you wonder what Nazi people felt after mass murders, if they felt bad for obliterating true people. We had a boat party that night and it was so fun being with girls who you really click with, and we all had fun together. The next day we left to go home and were on the bus for around 15 hours again that night.

On March 11th my mom, brother, and sister were all in town. They stayed with me and it was so fun to have familiarity here. I think I am a little homesick after seeing them? We went to Brussels and Paris that week, and I realize I just don't really enjoy tourist cities. I had SO much fun with Ally and my mom traveling here, but pretty buildings are just pretty buildings. I sound like the biggest brat ever, but it is really how I feel haha. Paris is breathtaking. Looking at the eiffel tower at night is exactly as magical as you hope it will be, which is why I am going back in two weeks. There is a certain something about the city that makes you feel like you're in a movie with all the buildings and water and great food around you, it is amazing. But, hitting sights all day just to see them isn't so great. I guess what I am saying is if you really don't care to see Notre Dame, don't. Don't pay to go into a church just because you feel like you "should". Sit your butt down by the river with a coffee and read if that would make your day. Brussels was cool, and worth going to for a night if you are close and have the time. Not tons to do or see though, just a cool city. :)

When they left I was quite behind in school and spent the entire week catching up. This isn't a big deal because I literally have nothing else to do. It is so nice to wake up at 11:30 and still be done with real work at 6:30 PM lol. I keep seeing snapchats of people in the library at NAU at 2 in the morning and do NOT miss that in the slightest. Not looking forward to going back to real life with a job and more classes and less time. I caught up and turned in my first ever art research paper that I poured my heart and soul into and feel like I probably will still receive a solid C on it. Funny story, every single person in my Chinese art history class speaks Chinese except for me, so I am at a HUGE disadvantage. They would love to teach the class in Chinese, but I totally ruin that. It is really hard to be the only one, because occasionally they show things in Chinese just to add it in there, but then I don't understand how to critique it. Also, I am the only person in the class who's major is not Chinese art history, which means I am also at another large disadvantage. My teacher feels super bad for me (or maybe thinks I am so dumb) but either way, I am praying she grades kindly.

Yesterday I turned 21 and I am really grateful I have people here that made it a really good day. Monday night I went out with some friends and just had a genuinely good night. And yesterday we made pancakes and then I went to dinner with some other friends and they just did a lot to make it a really good day. I was super homesick at night, and I am not really sure why. I think my friends talking about their boyfriends made me miss Alex more, and I miss my best friends a lot. But I woke up this morning knowing that this is good for me, and that I only have two more months in Leiden so if I am going to be homesick I need to keep it to a few hours of feeling bad and get over it.

Today I am leaving to Mallorca, so I am having a pretty rough birthday week. :)

Life is good here.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page